What to read next?
My current "To Read" shelves

What to read next?

My current "To Read" shelves
My current “To Read” shelves, cleaned out, stocked and ready for the new year!

The biggest problem with being a bibliophile is that you constantly have to answer the question, what do I read next? For me, going to a place that sells used books that are haphazardly all lumped together on the same shelves yield the most interesting selection in my shopping cart. Library book sales and good wills are great places for these! If I go to an actual bookstore, or even on Amazon, I tend to not know what to buy and focus on fiction, when in reality I really enjoy memoirs and non fiction just as much. I tend to get frustrated that I cannot buy 100 books, become overwhelmed and leave. I like to have an ample supply of books in my to read next pile. This pile (or shelves) has been great reduced in the past few years, but I still have at least 50 on there at all times. Once a year, I clean it out and donate/sell what I know I’ll never read (usually these are books that have been on the pile for years, as in over 10 and the most I can ever deal with getting rid of is around 5).

Besides perusing used bookstores, I keep a list on Amazon and buy books used off of the site every few months to add to the pile. I very occasionally buy brand new books, usually these are bought in airports and are either a new release from a beloved author or business related. Which I should add, there is a separate pile on my desk to read on that subject. The Amazon list is from books I read about online, am recommended by friends, see in hardcover and want to remember to buy when the paperback comes out (I hate reading hardcover books unless they are business) or are from my GoodReads account. If I am looking to go down the rabbit hole of books, I’ll also use WhatShouldIReadNext.com which is great if you have a favorite book or author to go off of.

Last week I visited Half Price Books to sell off/donate the most recent months of read books and picked up a few there. But it made me miss the good will up the street, so the next day I stopped by and bought a stack of $2 books (which makes me SO happy!). This resulted in a shelf clean out so they all fit. Which then resulted in my reading 3 books as I was so excited by everything there was to read, which then made me feel like there was some room on the shelves so I am now wanting to buy a few from Amazon, you know so the shelves are full. It’s an endless cycle.

Soooooo, what are you you reading next?

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

Close Menu